Skip Navigation
We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, provide ads, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.

Elaine Tzourtzouklis UEA Service to Association Award

This award is named in tribute to Elaine Tzourtzouklis, a dedicated association leader who served as vice president and president of the Salt Lake Education Association and director of the Wasatch UniServ.
Woman smiling with a blue-grey background wearing a black jacket

About Elaine

Elaine was a true believer in the power of the Utah Education Association. She was a fierce advocate for members and the association as a whole.

Elaine held association members to high standards, believing that membership was only a tiny part of belonging. She encouraged members to engage in leadership, political action, and advocacy. Her cheerful disposition and keen sense of humor served her well in her career.

Established by the 2017 UEA House of Delegates, the Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award is presented annually in conjunction with other UEA awards at the Superstars in Education banquet to an individual who has provided outstanding service to the association. The honoree will also receive a monetary award equal to an Excellence in Teaching Award recipient.

We encourage, support, and celebrate the nomination of Black, Latin-/o/a/@/e/x, Asian American, Indigenous, and Pacific Islander educators, as well as LGBTQIA+ educators, veterans, people living with disabilities, and other educators with lived experience being part of marginalized communities.

Nominations for the Elaine Tzourtzouklis UEA Service to Association Award are now open.

Nominations must be submitted or postmarked by Friday, February 9, 2024

Maximum 5 files.
256 MB limit.
Allowed types: gif, jpg, jpeg, png.
Maximum 10 files.
256 MB limit.
Allowed types: txt, rtf, pdf, doc, docx, odt, ppt, pptx, odp, xls, xlsx, ods.


The nominee must have demonstrated exceptional service to the association through member advocacy, political action, leadership, collaboration, and/or coalition building.

To be eligible for this award, nominees must be members of the NEA and the unified state and local associations, provided the person is eligible for the respective association.

If you have questions, please contact Heather Shepherd at the UEA Office.

Email Heather


The award nominees are carefully considered by the UEA Board of Directors. The winner is honored at the Superstars in Education Awards Banquet.

Previous Winners

2023: Roz Van Vleet, Davis Education Association member

2022: Pat Rusk, former UEA president and honored posthumously


Keeping the Promise of Quality Public Education

With more than 18,000 members across the state, UEA supports equal opportunities for success for ALL Utah students, and respect and support for all educators.