Resolution to encourage late-start high schools passes the House- February 10, 2020

House Education Committee (reported by Sara Jones): Two bills tracked by UEA were heard in House Education Committee today:

HB222: School Breakfast Participation Requirements creates the Smart Start Utah program that requires a public school participating in the National School Lunch program to also participate in the School Breakfast Program and to use an alternative breakfast service model if a certain percentage of student qualify for free or reduced lunch. However, the legislation also provides for a waiver so that a district that is struggling to meet the requirements of the program can be exempted. The bill passed with one no vote.

HB205: Students with Disabilities Amendments amends the formula for funding special education students. Currently, two-year lagged data is used to estimate the number of special education students in a district. The bill reduces that to one-year lagged data in order to be more accurate in and responsive to the growth of special education students. It passed unanimously.

House Floor (reported by Mike Kelley): HB84: Traffic Code Amendments increases the minimum fines for penalties associated with passing a school bus displaying flashing lights. It passed the House on a vote of 64-10.

HB141: Educator Salary Incentive Program Amendments allows the Utah State Board of Education flexibility in funding the Teacher Salary Supplement program if more teachers apply and are approved than is funded by legislative appropriation. It also allows for licensed clinical social workers to receive Educator Salary Adjustment monies if they have a DOPL or education license. It passed the House unanimously and now goes to the Senate for consideration.

HCR3: Concurrent Resolution Encouraging Consideration of a Later Start Time for High School encourages school districts and charter schools to consider the possible benefits and consequences of a later start to the school day for high schools. It passed the House on a vote of 51-20 and now goes to the Senate.