Page Title

UEA Policy Ambassadors

Page Content

Participants in the UEA Policy Ambassador program are trained in the legislative process, provided opportunities to engage with their legislators and invited share their experiences with other UEA members. Seven teacher volunteers participated as the association's first UEA Policy Ambassador program in 2019. The UEA is continuing the program in 2020.

2020 UEA Policy Ambassadors Program

The 2020 UEA Policy Ambassador program launched with a Fall Retreat on Saturday, November 9, 2019. Led by members of the UEA Legislative Team, the retreat focused on logistics of the legislative process and lobbying, developing leadership and advocacy skills, effective communication and messaging, as well as team building and networking.

The 19 educators selected as 2020 Policy Ambassadors are engaged in a series of activities related to the 2020 legislative session. In addition to training at the Fall Retreat, Ambassadors will speak with their elected representative and senator, participate in UEA Educator Day on the Hill, attend legislative committee meetings, study a policy issue of interest, write about their experience on UEA Under the Dome and present at the UEA Summer Leadership Academy

The 2020 UEA Policy Ambassadors

  • Lori Buhr – Tooele School District
  • Annette Croucher – Washington School District
  • Ashlyn Drew – Tooele School District
  • CJ Gebhardt – Granite School District
  • Carol Gregory – Nebo School District
  • Sarah Jones – Davis School District
  • Taylor Layton – Granite School District
  • Katharine McGinn- Park City School District
  • Courtney Miller – Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
  • Beth Niederman - Granite School District
  • Alexis Redford – Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
  • Lauren Rich – Davis School District
  • Jacob Rollins – Jordan School District
  • Megan Ruff – Jordan School District
  • Justin Shaw – Weber School District
  • Patricia Shay – Granite School District
  • Alexandra Smith – Weber School District
  • Hilary Ward – Salt Lake City School District
  • Angela Wickel – Duchesne School District

Insert Link to Fillable PDF Form