Page Title

Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award

Page Content

About the Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award

Established by the 2017 UEA House of Delegates, the Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award is presented annually in conjunction with other UEA awards at the Superstars in Education Banquet to an individual who has provided outstanding service to the Association. 

A 2019 Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award was presented to Ryan Anderson, former Grand County School District teacher and NEA Board Director from Utah and current UEA-Retired vice president...more

This award is named in honor of Elaine Tzourtzouklis, long-time association leader, vice president and president of the Salt Lake Education Association, and director of the Wasatch UniServ. Elaine was a true believer in the power of the Association. She was a fierce advocate for members and the Association in general. Elaine held association members to high standards and felt membership was only a small part of belonging. She encouraged members to be engaged, in leadership, political action and advocacy. Elaine had a positive disposition and a keen sense of humor, which served her well in her career.

Nominations for the 2020 Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award are now open.

Deadline: Monday, March 23, 2020

Selection Criteria:
  1. Nominees for this award must be members of the NEA as well as the unified state and local associations if there is one for which the person is eligible.

  2. The nominee must have provided outstanding service to the Association in the area of member advocacy, political action, leadership, collaboration and/or coalition building.

Nomination Information:

Nominations are now closed. Winners will be announced in early April 2019 and honored at the KeyBank Superstars in Education banquet in May.

Provide a black and white or color photo.

The individual(s) or group(s) wishing to nominate an honoree may develop a file of documents, newspaper clippings, and other supportive materials substantiating the nomination to accompany the nomination form. Send all materials to:

Utah Education Association - Elaine Tzourtzouklis Award
Attn: UEA Board of Directors
875 E. Pontiac Dr.
Murray, UT 84107

Fax: 801-265-2249 or Email: