Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award

Nominations for the 2021 Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award are now CLOSED.

About the Award

This award is named in honor of Elaine Tzourtzouklis, long-time association leader, vice president and president of the Salt Lake Education Association, and director of the Wasatch UniServ. Elaine was a true believer in the power of the Association. She was a fierce advocate for members and the Association in general. Elaine held association members to high standards and felt membership was only a small part of belonging. She encouraged members to be engaged, in leadership, political action and advocacy. Elaine had a positive disposition and a keen sense of humor, which served her well in her career.

Established by the 2017 UEA House of Delegates, the Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award is presented annually in conjunction with other UEA awards at the Superstars in Education Banquet to an individual who has provided outstanding service to the Association. The honoree will also receive a monetary award equal to an Excellence in Teaching Award recipient ($1,500 for 2021).

Selection Criteria and Process:

Nominees for this award must be members of the NEA as well as the unified state and local associations if there is one for which the person is eligible.

The nominee must have provided outstanding service to the Association in the area of member advocacy, political action, leadership, collaboration and/or coalition building.

The award nominees are carefully considered by the UEA Board of Directors. A winner is chosen and announced around April. The awards are presented at the KeyBank Superstars in Education banquet in May.


Nominations for the 2021 Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award closed on March 1, 2021. Nominations received after this date will not be considered.

We encourage, support and celebrate nominations that reflect the diversity of Utah’s educators and communities.

If you have questions, please contact:
Heather Shepherd, 801-417-0226, heather.shepherd@myuea.org

Previous Winners

A 2020 Elaine Tzourtzouklis Service to Association Award was presented to Trudy Henderson, former Davis School District teacher and current UEA-Retired president.

A 2019 award was presented to Ryan Anderson, former Grand County School District teacher and NEA Board Director from Utah and current UEA-Retired vice president.