USBE names 2021 Utah Teacher of the Year finalists


John Arthur
Rae Boren
Amy Grgich
Emma Moss
Ryan Wells
The Utah State Board of Education announced the five finalists for 2021 Utah Teacher of the Year. They are:

  • John Arthur, a sixth grade teacher at Meadowlark Elementary and Salt Lake Education Association member.
  • Rae Boren, an American Sign Language teacher at Copper Hills High School and Jordan Education Association member.
  • Amy Grgich, a kindergarten teacher at Stansbury Park Elementary and Tooele Education Association member.
  • Emma Moss, a Career and Technical Education teacher at Eastmont Middle School in the Canyons School District.
  • Ryan Wells, a Spanish teacher at Taylorsville High School and Granite Education Association member.

A panel with representatives from the Utah Education Association, parents, charter schools, the Utah State Board of Education and 2020 Utah Teacher of the Year Lauren Merkley selected the finalists from among the district and charter school teachers of the year from throughout the state to select a winning teacher. The announcement will be made on October 1.

The 2021 Utah Teacher of the Year will represent Utah in the National Teacher of the Year Program in Washington, D.C. and will succeed Merkley, who is an English teacher at Cottonwood High School and a Granite Education Association member.

Back to News Listing