UEA-PAC votes to support Gov. Gary Herbert in Republican Primary


The UEA Political Action Committee (UEA-PAC) voted to support Utah Governor Gary R. Herbert in his 2016 Republican primary race against executive Jonathan Johnson.

“Over the past few legislative sessions, Gov. Herbert showed great leadership in support of students and educators by pushing for historic increases in funding and vetoing bad legislation,” said UEA President Sharon Gallagher-Fishbuagh, who is a member of the UEA-PAC. “UEA enjoyed a strong partnership with the Governor in every possible way. The Governor knows and has demonstrated that the teacher voice is critical. He has met with the UEA Board on multiple occasions and has been consistently willing to hear concerns and recommendations from the UEA Legislative Team.”

"There is nothing more essential to Utah's long-term economic prosperity than our ability to educate our children and ensure they are competitive in a global economy," Herbert said in a statement. "I appreciate that our educators have validated Utah's ongoing efforts to prioritize educational excellence and actively engage the full range of stakeholders in pursuing higher levels of attainment."

The UEA-PAC recommended Gov. Herbert in the 2012 General Election and, in 2010, gave a double endorsement to both Herbert and Democratic challenger Peter Corroon. It had previously endorsed Gov. Jon Huntsman Jr., as well.

The UEA-PAC has not yet made any candidate recommendations for November’s General Election.

About the UEA-PAC
Founded as the nation's first educator political action committee in 1964, the UEA-PAC is the political arm of the UEA. Since no UEA member dues are used for political parties or candidates, UEA-PAC allows educators to have a voice in political issues affecting children and public education. UEA-PAC is directed and run by classroom teacher members from throughout the state. Chaired by the UEA President, the UEA-PAC Executive Council has bi-partisan representatives from each local UniServ and the UEA Board of Directors.

Back to News Listing