National Award for Davis Teacher


Allison Riddle, a third-grade teacher in Davis School District and 2014 Utah Teacher of the Year, was named one of five recipients of the 2015 Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence. The awards are presented to five outstanding teachers nationally by The NEA Foundation.

Each winner receives a $10,000 check from Horace Mann at The NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Gala on February 13, 2015. That same evening, one of the five Teaching Excellence finalists will be named The NEA Member Benefits Award for Teaching Excellence winner and will receive $25,000 courtesy of NEA Member Benefits. In 2010, this award was presented to former Dilworth Elementary (Salt Lake City School District) teacher and current UEA President Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh.

“To have an educator from Utah win this award speaks volumes about the quality of teachers and UEA leaders we have here,” said Gallagher-Fishbaugh. “Allison is a fantastic educator, a dedicated UEA member and very deserving of the Teaching Excellence Award.”

The other four 2015 Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence recipients are:

  • Crystal Williams Gordon, high school biology teacher, Louisiana Association of Educators;
  • Anna E. Baldwin, high school English and history teacher, MEA-MFT (Montana); 
  • Terri A. Butts, second-grade teacher, South Carolina Education Association;
  • Richard Erickson, high school chemistry, physics and alternative education teacher, Wisconsin Education Association Council

About the NEA Foundation


The NEA Foundation is an independent, public charity supported by contributions from educators, corporate sponsors, and others.  The Foundation partners with education unions, districts and communities to create powerful, sustainable improvements in teaching and learning. Visit for more information.

Back to News Listing