Five UEA members selected as Utah's Teacher of the Year finalists


Archer James Birrell 
Jeffrey R. Jackson
Anjanette McNeeley
Kellie May
Stephanie Roper
The Utah State Board of Education today announced the five finalists for 2019 Utah Teacher of the Year. All five are members of the Utah Education Association. They are:

A panel with representatives from the Utah Education Association, parents, charter schools, the Utah State Board of Education and 2018 Utah Teacher of the Year Aaryn Birchell selected the finalists from among the 32 district and charter school teachers of the year from throughout the state. The five were interviewed and a 2019 Utah Teacher of the Year and two runners up were selected but won’t be announced until September 6 when a banquet will be held honoring all district and charter teachers of the year.

The 2019 Utah Teacher of the Year will represent Utah in the National Teacher of the Year Program in Washington, D.C., and will succeed Birchell, an English language arts teacher at Uintah High School in the Uintah School District.

Back to News Listing