Five UEA members selected as 2020 Utah Teacher of the Year finalists


Kelland Davis 
Xaviera Ma
Andrea Lynn Melnick
Lauren Merkley
Rebecca Richardson
The Utah State Board of Education announced the five finalists for 2020 Utah Teacher of the Year. All five are members of the Utah Education Association. They are:

  • Kelland Davis, an eighth grade mathematics teacher at North Davis Junior High School and Davis Education Association member.
  • Xaviera Ma, a sixth grade dual language immersion teacher at Wasatch Elementary School and Provo  Education Association member.
  • Andrea Lynn Melnick, a kindergarten teacher at Hillcrest Elementary School Logan  Education Association member.
  • Lauren Merkley, an English teacher at Cottonwood High School and Granite  Education Association member.
  • Rebecca Richardson, an English and ACT and college preparatory teacher at East High School and Salt Lake City Education Association member.

A panel with representatives from the Utah Education Association, parents, charter schools, the Utah State Board of Education and 2019 Utah Teacher of the Year Kellie May selected the finalists from among the 25 district and charter school teachers of the year from throughout the state. The five were interviewed and a 2020 Utah Teacher of the Year and two runners up were selected but won’t be announced until September 5 when a banquet will be held honoring all district and charter teachers of the year.

The 2019 Utah Teacher of the Year will represent Utah in the National Teacher of the Year Program in Washington, D.C., and will succeed May, a student teacher specialist in the Salt Lake City School District.

Back to News Listing