Award-Winning Educator Re-Elected as UEA President


Former special education and second grade teacher Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh was elected by her fellow educators to a second two-year term as president of the 18,000-member Utah Education Association. She was originally elected to the office in 2010. Her second term begins July 15.

Also re-elected was UEA Vice President Tom Nedreberg, a 34-year teaching veteran currently working as technology director in Tintic School District.

“It’s an honor to represent the talented and dedicated public school teachers of Utah,” said Gallagher-Fishbaugh. “I believe a strong public education system is critical to Utah’s future and should be our state’s top priority. I will continue to work with teachers, parents, policymakers, business leaders and others to guarantee a great public school for every child.”

The Utah State Office of Education named Gallagher-Fishbaugh the 2009 Utah Teacher of the Year. In April 2010, the National Education Association Foundation named her the nation’s top educator by awarding her the NEA Member Benefits Award for Teaching Excellence. She is a National Board Certified Teacher and has more than 34 years’ experience in Utah public schools.

UEA leaders are elected by Association members in statewide elections held each year. Twelve UEA leadership positions were subject to election in 2013...more


Back to News Listing