2011 Golden Apple Awards


After parents, perhaps no one makes more of a difference in a child's life than a dedicated teacher. That’s why each year, the Utah Education Association works with the Utah PTA and KUED to present the Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Education in recognition of six outstanding educators and two exceptional volunteers.

Selected from nominees submitted by schools in Utah, these educators provide children with the educational and social tools needed to succeed. In 2011, the Golden Apple Awards celebrated 21 years of honoring dedicated teachers and volunteers in the state of Utah.
The 2011 Golden Apple Award outstanding educator recipients include:

The 2011 outstanding volunteer awards were presented to Kimball Weaver, South Elementary, Iron County School District, and Terri Whittingham, Rocky Mountain Elementary and Oak Canyon Junior High, Alpine School District.

Each Golden Apple Award recipient received a $1,000 cash award and was honored at an awards ceremony and dinner on May 24. The ceremony aired on KUED. Cash awards and program funding of the Golden Apple Awards are provided by the Emma Eccles Jones Foundation, NuSkin Enterprises, Utah Education Network, EMI Health and the Utah Education Association.

Hosted by Ted Capener, the awards ceremony featured on-site footage of the recipients at work in their classrooms. Utah's First Lady Jeanette Herbert, Utah PTA President Ilene Mecham and Utah Education Association President Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh presented the awards.

Additional information and video of the award ceremony are available at

Back to News Listing